⚠️ This issue respects the following points: ⚠️
Bug description
Hello,
while trying out different options of user account created web ui link shares I noticed that uploaded files get overwritten without when choosing the write share option. (file drop without being able to read/see uploaded files in a share).
This behaviour is different when choosing read/write as share option. Then you get a warning popup that the name of the new uploaded files is already existing.
I would prefer options to adjust this behaviour so users cannot delete or change files by mistake or in bad faith
Steps to reproduce
- create a link share with write only access
- upload a test file, lets say a text file
test.txt with the content 1
- upload a another files called
test.txt with the content 0
- there will be no warning or anything but the available file will contain the content from the last uploaded version (
0 in this case)
Expected behavior
In case a user with the upload link tries to upload a file (or folder with subfolders and files) and the path already exists this should not overwrite the content of previously existing files.
Instead there should be options:
Option 1
- sftpgo should add a suffix (counter or timestamp) to the file paths
- in case of a folder upload this suffix could be part of the main uploaded folder only (instead of each individual file)
Option 2
- there should be a notification similar to a link share with write and read permissions that warns the user that the file already exist
- and then the user should have options like
- skip already existing paths
- overwrite existing
- add suffix as describe in Option 1
SFTPGo version
2.7.1 1312348
Data provider
local file paths
Installation method
Community Docker image
Configuration
not relevant
Relevant log output
What are you using SFTPGo for?
Private user, home usecase (home backup/VPS)
Additional info
I would not describe this a bug but more as a suggestion for a behaviour I would prefer/expect from the file drop/write only upload share link feature.
Bug description
Hello,
while trying out different options of user account created web ui link shares I noticed that uploaded files get overwritten without when choosing the write share option. (file drop without being able to read/see uploaded files in a share).
This behaviour is different when choosing read/write as share option. Then you get a warning popup that the name of the new uploaded files is already existing.
I would prefer options to adjust this behaviour so users cannot delete or change files by mistake or in bad faith
Steps to reproduce
test.txtwith the content1test.txtwith the content00in this case)Expected behavior
In case a user with the upload link tries to upload a file (or folder with subfolders and files) and the path already exists this should not overwrite the content of previously existing files.
Instead there should be options:
Option 1
Option 2
SFTPGo version
2.7.1 1312348
Data provider
local file paths
Installation method
Community Docker image
Configuration
not relevant
Relevant log output
What are you using SFTPGo for?
Private user, home usecase (home backup/VPS)
Additional info
I would not describe this a bug but more as a suggestion for a behaviour I would prefer/expect from the file drop/write only upload share link feature.